Have you been accused of robbery? If so, it is important to consult a defense lawyer immediately. By working quickly and getting the professional representation of an attorney, you have the chance of getting a favorable outcome for your robbery case. Legal proceedings are complex and it is easy to unintentionally incriminate yourself when trying to be helpful by cooperating with law enforcement. With a robbery defense attorney at your side, you have the advantage of professional help at every step of your trial, including the investigation if charges have not been filed yet.
Orange County robbery defense lawyer Jennifer Le is an experienced criminal defense attorney, who has built a successful practice in Orange County after serving as a Deputy District Attorney. She has gone through extensive evaluation and testing to become a Criminal Defense Specialist, a title that is not easy to achieve. If you have been accused of, are under investigation for or have been charged with robbery, attorney Jennifer Le may be able to help you avoid jail time and other penalties.
Robbery Charges in California
In California, robbery is considered a violent crime and is charged as a felony If convicted, you will receive a "strike" on your criminal record as outlined in California's "
Three Strikes and You're Out" law. The penalties for robbery range from 2 to 9 years in state prison, depending upon the location of the robbery and the circumstances surrounding the crime.
Armed robbery is a more severe form of the crime which carries heavier penalties. Using a gun or firing a
gun will add 10 or 20 years to your sentence, respectively.
Carjacking is also another form of robbery, when it involves a motor vehicle.
Contact Orange County Criminal Defense Attorney Jennifer Le today!
Armed robbery is a
Armed robbery which involves the use of a gun or other firearm during a
robbery, which is
theft by force or threat of harm to the victim. Armed robbery is an extremely serious charge in California. Not only is it deemed a violent crime, it is also a felony and will count on your criminal record as a "strike" under California's "
'Three Strikes and You're Out" law. Under this law, if you have a prior violent or serious felony conviction and are charged with a new felony offense, you will face a doubled state prison sentence.
If you have been accused of armed robbery, consulting a skilled defense lawyer will be in your best interest. Even while under investigation for robbery, you will need to know what your rights are and what you should and should not say and do when talking to the police. Without the help of an attorney, you could inadvertently admit guilt or lead police to believe that you committed a crime even when you did no such thing. Make sure you do the right thing for your future and your reputation, and consult an armed robbery defense attorney in your area.
Armed Robbery Penalties in California
In California, if you are convicted of armed robbery, you will certainly face felony charges and years in state prison. The specific sentences for robbery and armed robbery are listed below:
1st degree robbery
1st degree robbery (robbery of an inhabited dwelling, ATM, person in vehicle or bus or taxi cab driver) is a felony offense and carries a state prison sentence of 3 to 9 years.
2nd degree robbery
2nd degree robbery (all other forms of robbery, such as a mugging on a public street) is a felony offense and carries a state prison sentence of 2 to 5 years
Use of a Firearm
Use of a firearm during the commission of a robbery immediately adds 10 years to your state prison sentence.
Discharge of a firearm
during the commission of a robbery adds 20 years to your state prison sentence.
As you can see, armed robbery is a serious charge that requires a skilled and dedicated attorney. Orange County armed robbery defense lawyer Jennifer Le has the experience and resources necessary to defend your robbery charge.
Accused of armed robbery in Orange County, California?
Contact our legal defense office today!