Our firm has extensive experience handling a wide range of criminal defense cases
throughout Orange County, Los Angeles and all of California.
Burglar is a serious theft crime that can not only lead to up to 6 years in prison but which will count as a strike on your criminal record under California’s ” Three Strikes and You’re Out” law, which causes your next felony charge to have increased penalties, up to two times the maximum penalty. The tricky thing with any burglary charge is that it is based upon the intent of the accused. Whether or not any property was taken or a felony was committed, entering someone’s property with the intention of committing the illegal act is a criminal offense in itself.
Orange County burglary defense lawyer Jennifer Le is a former Deputy District Attorney who is now an Experienced Criminal Defense Specialist on your side. As a criminal defense lawyer in California. Attorney Jennifer Le’s unending dedication and persistence in defending her clients’ cases has earned her an excellent reputation and has caused her law firm to be one of the most successful in Orange County.
If you have been charged with or accused of burglary, California law provides harsh penalties. That is why it is so important to work with a burglary defense lawyer who can actively and effectively assert your rights. Don’t allow yourself to be left with a lengthy state prison sentence for a crime you should not have been convicted of. If convicted of burglary in California, the penalties are as follows:
1st degree burglary
Usually called residential burglary, this is illegally entering the home, apartment, trailer, condo or residence of a person with the intention of committing theft or a felony. Penalties will include 2, 4, or 6 years in state prison.
2nd degree burglary
Often associated with shoplifting, this is burglary involving a car, business or store. This crime is usually charged as a misdemeanor with a maximum county jail sentence of up to 1 year, but it can also be charged as a felony with a maximum sentence of 3 years in state prison.